//
you're reading...
Resigning

The only 2 resignation letter you ever need

Resignation letters

You are ready to go, have thought about what to say… why should you have to type up a resignation letter? Is that not just more of that admin you wanted to get away from! Yes, it is part of that necessary evil.

Example of a to the point resignation letter

Feel free to copy past this, add your details and print it out excitedly, you’re nearly there. Alternatively here is a Word document of this resignation letter:

[COMPANY NAME AND ADRESS]

[TODAY’S DATE]

Dear [MR/MRS MANAGER]:

This is my formal notification that I am resigning from [COMPANY NAME] as [TITLE]. In view of the notice period in my contract, [DATE] will be my last day of employment.

I appreciate the opportunities I have been given here, and wish you much success in  the future.

Yours sincerely,

[YOUR SIGNATURE]

[YOUR NAME]

cc: [NAMES OF THOSE BEING GIVEN COPY OF THIS LETTER, IF ANY]

What about a resignation letter to try to change your notice period?

Try this one, perfectly to the point and should open conversations with your line manager and HR about finding a practical solution and agreement on your notice period. Alternatively here is a Word document of this resignation letter:

[COMPANY NAME AND ADRESS] 

[TODAY’S DATE]

Dear [MR/MRS MANAGER]:

As required by my contract of employment, I hereby give you [YOUR NOTICE PERIOD] weeks notice of my intention to leave my position as [TITLE].

I have decided that it is time to move on [choose one of the below]

and I have accepted a position elsewhere.

to other avenues which are important to me at this stage of my life

This was not an easy decision and took a lot of consideration. However, I am confident that my new path will help me to move towards the goals I have in my life.

As stated in my contract of employment, my notice period is [YOUR NOTICE PERIOD] weeks but I would like to move on at the earliest date. Therefore, I would like to request that you waive this notice period and release me of my duties as soon as possible. Please be assured that I will do all I can to assist in the smooth transfer of my responsibilities before leaving.

I would like to thank you for having me as part of your team and wish you and the company every good fortune in the future.

Yours sincerely,

[YOUR SIGNATURE]

[YOUR NAME] 

cc: [NAMES OF THOSE BEING GIVEN COPY OF THIS LETTER, IF ANY]

That is all you need, good luck and enjoy the process, these could be the last few moments you spend in an office!

About patarcher

Office Escapee Entrepreneur Trainer & Coach TED enthusiast Family guy Primal & Barefoot

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Best way to resign for everyone « A guide to escaping office life - July 18, 2012

What do you think on this topic?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

