//
you're reading...
Mind

Boris Becker on finding happiness again

What do you really want to do in life?

Often we do not even consider this question properly: what would you do if today, tonight, right now, you achieved financial security? More money than you could ever need or spend. Working for money is finished… so after a long holiday, it’s time to think about what you want to do with the rest of your life!

Boris Becker’s point of view

Boris Becker was the youngest Wimbledon tennis championship winner at 17. By the time he retired he had won six Grand Slams, an Olympic Gold, 49 titles, and had over $75m in the bank… financially he was definitely secure!

So what did he do next?

“For a couple of years, I wasn’t doing anything. I had a difficult moment in my private life, I had a divorce, so I really had to settle down and start afresh,” he recalls.

“But obviously, after just doing nothing, apart from playing golf and taking too many holidays, you get bored quickly and I felt that at 35 years of age there was a lot more I could ask from life on a professional level and there were so many things I wanted to do,” he says.

So he began thinking about what talents he had and which people he wanted around him. He setup a couple of companies involved in what he loved most (tennis raquet manufacture and poker amongst other things) and he remains highly passionate about these.

Would you retire from what you love?

When asked when he might consider retiring, he scoffed at the idea.

“Retire into what? I love what I do. I don’t get up in the morning and say I hate my job, I don’t want to go to the office,” he says.

“I really love what I do. I had moments when I was really bored and that’s not a good feeling,” he reflects.

“I’m happy. I’m in a good place now and I can’t imagine not working ever,” he adds.

What about you?

Your turn, imagine you have financial security… what are you passionate about, what would you do, and who with? How could you start doing that now?

Remember, success does not necessarily lead to happiness, but in my experience happiness always leads to success! So do something that makes you happy and worry about success later.

About patarcher

Office Escapee Entrepreneur Trainer & Coach TED enthusiast Family guy Primal & Barefoot

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think on this topic?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

